Once a working United States Mint, and the only building in the country to have functioned as both a U.S. and Confederate Mint, this historic landmark now houses part of the Louisiana State Museum. Designed by William Strickland, the mastermind behind the Second Bank of the U.S., Philadelphia Mint, and the Tennessee State Capitol, the red-brick building is an example of the Greek Revival style which was popular during the 19th-century. The building began minting in 1838 and was used to mint Confederate currency after Louisiana’s secession from the Union in 1861 in addition housing Confederate troops. Minting United States currency continued until the early 1900’s and the building was taken over by state government in the 1960’s and subsequently became a public building as part of the Louisiana State Museum complex, which it serves as to this day. Located right on the Mississippi Riverfront and at the intersection of the historic French Quarter and the musical Frenchmen Street, the Old US Mint remains an essential part of New Orleans culture.
There is an ongoing campaign to create a world-class jazz museum located on the second floor building, set to open its doors in late 2017. The museum in the birthplace of jazz will display artifacts collected throughout the decades and will showcase the world’s most extensive collection of instruments, photographs, and other artifacts focused on the roots and growth of New Orleans jazz. The third floor of the Old US Mint currently serves as a live music performance venue capable of state-of-the-art productions, recording, broadcasting, and more.
Our Express Segway Tour glides you to the Old U.S. Mint and is must-see for music and history lovers alike.
Tuesday through Sunday
10:00am – 4:30pm
Riverfront streetcars #2 stops directly in front of the building.
Buses Marigny Bywater #5 and Elysian Fields #55 both stop here.
Paid parking lot available.
Public Entrance Fees